Whimsy Within Blog

…this…that…the other…

On Expansion

4 Comments

Sukhasana - Easy PoseI sit in lotus pose, spine straight, and gaze lowered. Following the natural rhythm of my breath, I silently repeat the mantra “Breathing in, I know I am breathing in. Breathing out, I know I am breathing out.”

With each inhalation and exhalation, I become more grateful for this practice of expanding consciousness. I repeat, “Breathing in, I know I am breathing in. Breathing out,…”

What the frig is up with these pants? My stomach is being cut in two. I’m much more successful at expanding my waistline than my consciousness.

Return to the breath, I gently tell myself.

“Breathing in, I know,…”

Shoot! I forgot to check and see if I have organic nutra-grain waffles in the freezer. I bought those strawberries and blueberries yesterday specifically for waffles this morning. Darn, I hope,…

Okay, okay. It’s all good. Just come back compassionately to the breath.

wafstraw

“Breathing in, I know I am breathing in. Breathing out, I know,….”

I think I’ll change out of these pants before I leave for writer’s group. These are too uncomfortable. I need to make sure I have some cash in my wallet for tea.

You’re supposed to be breathing Terri. You know, expanding your consciousness. Center yourself.

I unfasten the top button of my pants and allow my belly flesh to freely expand into the ether. 

What comes to mind when you think of expansion?

Author: Whimsy Within

published author, blogger, certified yoga teacher, meditator, tree hugger, four seasons devotee, courageous learner, and flawsome spark of the Divine.

4 thoughts on “On Expansion

  1. Changing out of my pants before the writing class is an expansion of consciousness for me too . . .

    Don’t all meditators do this?

    Michael J

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I meditate every morning. It raises my vibration and helps to keep me centered.

    Liked by 1 person

Speak your mind here,...

