Whimsy Within Blog

…this…that…the other…

Inside and Out

11 Comments

“How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?”

INSIDE AND OUT

I’d be as old as delicious, sharp, aged-provolone cheese on the inside and as young as a freshly made batch of cruelty-free vegan nut cheese on the outside.

I’d be as old as a well-worn pair of reliable walking shoes on the inside and as young, carefree, and reckless as a bright, multi-colored pair of flip flops on a rainy day on the outside.

I’d be as old as the great and mighty, majestic sequoia trees on the inside and as young as a newly planted sapling, tender-moist with its first drink on the outside.

I’d be as old as a profound, ancient spiritual text written by scholars and sages on the inside and as young as the gratifying high of a first best-selling novel on the outside.

I’d be as old as the mystery of the Universe, the Cosmos, and the galaxies on the inside and as young as the definite first spark of stardust released from the Big Bang on the outside.

Inside and out, I’d be balanced, timeless.

Inside and out, I’d be eternally ageless.

How old are you?

uni5

 

(This post was born from a prompt exercise in one of my writing groups.)

 

Author: Whimsy Within

published author, blogger, certified yoga teacher, meditator, tree hugger, four seasons devotee, courageous learner, and flawsome spark of the Divine.

11 thoughts on “Inside and Out

  1. Lovely! I’d be timeless as well with all I embraced.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said. I think you could change “I’d be” to “I am…” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful and brilliant. Love this piece. Always amazed at what can come from a 10-minute prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Me, I’d be 17 again.

    In fact, I don’t feel much older than that most days and I like to think I am adventurous as that high school kid getting ready to graduate and finally see the world. I’m going to continue to have fun no matter the circumstnaces!

    Liked by 1 person

Speak your mind here,...

